Chaplin Copyrights

Open, general discussion of silent films, personalities and history.
gentlemanfarmer

Chaplin Copyrights

Unread post by gentlemanfarmer » Sat Sep 24, 2011 2:28 pm

I'm very new to studying all things film, but one thing that I don't fully understand is how all the Chaplin films made after 1917 are in some sense still copyrighted by the Chaplin Estate. Could someone provide a clear understanding for a neophyte?

Also I was pleased, but very surprised to see The Kid being performed at the new Denver Silent Film Festival with a new Mont Alto score. I thought it was one of the films the estate dictates performance terms of/for, any elucidation would be welcome. I think it's great and congratulations to all involved in launching the new film festival, it looked fantastic!

Many thanks in advance.
Eric W. Cook
Director, Ivy Leaf Orchestra
Silent Film, Salon and Ragtime Orchestra
Please visit us at ivyleaforchestra.com

Jim Reid

Re: Chaplin Copyrights

Unread post by Jim Reid » Sat Sep 24, 2011 2:41 pm

Any film made before 1923 is public domain and can be freely used. The Chaplin Estate does have the original film elements on the First National realeases, including The Kid. If you want to use the prints owned by the estate, you follow their rules. If you are able to find other prints to use, you may do whatever you want with them.

Chris Snowden

Unread post by Chris Snowden » Sat Sep 24, 2011 2:49 pm

Actually the Chaplin First Nationals that we're most familiar with are not the 1918-1923 originals, but reconstructions created in the 1940s from the best surviving alternate takes.

Association Chaplin could easily and persuasively argue in court that these are not in the public domain; nor would it hesitate to jump on an unauthorized distributor with both feet.
-------------------------------------
Chris Snowden
https://televisiondiary.wordpress.com" target="_blank

Jim Reid

Unread post by Jim Reid » Sat Sep 24, 2011 3:15 pm